top of page

Living with Relatives: The Inevitable Pros and Cons.


silhouette

I am currently living with a relative of mine. Now if you have ever lived with relative(s) who is/are not your parents, you should be able to identify with the contents of this post. Having lived and still living with my brother and his family for over a year now, I believe the things shared in this post will be good and true. I can however not stress enough how important it is to always set up basic ground rules. It may seem unnecessary initially, but trust me, it helps. That being cleared up, below is my list of the pros and cons of living with relatives...

PROS

1. You do not have to pay for rent and utility bills

2. You always have company

3. You still feel at home with family

4. There's almost always something to do

5. There's always someone looking out for you (whether or not you are aware of this)

6. You learn to live with and tolerate others more

7. You eventually have to move out. Hopefully after getting much experience in living with others and discovering what you as a person would and would not accept from others living with you.

CONS

1. You may overstay your welcome. Especially when no ground rules have been set up as to compensation for instance..

2. And when you overstay your welcome, things will become tense all around

3. The difficult house chores may be passed your way

4. You can't live by your rules alone...curfew and all that

5. You still feel at home with family until the relative's spouse has had enough of your presence

6. You may not have your own space

7. You eventually have to move out.

I have less than a year to continue living with a relative though and I can't get out fast enough. I do feel like my presence has become bothersome to some and I need new vibes. Luckily I've got school in the near future.


P.S. A second official trailer for Doctor Who is Here is you haven't seen it already.


P.P.S. Remember the book by TY HUTCHINSON I was reading?. I've just finished reading it. Please check the next post for a nice review and my take on the book. Thanks.


C.I.

xx.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page